Amazing Time Trial in Le Tour de France

Amazing Time Trial in Le Tour de France
One for the history books!
Last saturday, Tadej Pogacar took the yellow jersey from Primoz Roglic after an
A M A Z I N G time trial.
It reminded us of a story we know very well:
In 1967 and 1968 the Tour returned to national teams, as an experiment.
In the Tour of 1968, (Fran)Çois was directeur sportif of the Belgian national team.
Four days before the final stage, Belgian teamrider Herman Vanspringel took the yellow jersey in the 19th stage from Grenoble to Sallanches.
He started the final stage, a time trial from Melun to Paris, as leader of the GC.
Herman was followed by Spanish rider San Miguel at 12 seconds and Dutch rider Jan Janssen at 16 seconds.
Janssen won the final time trial, with Vanspringel in second place.
The margin was 38 seconds, big enough for Janssen to win the Tour.
That remained the smallest winning margin until 1989, when @greg.lemond won by only eight seconds ahead of Laurent Fignon.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published